Scholars at Risk is an international network of institutions and individuals working to promote academic freedom and to defend the human rights of scholars worldwide... more »

Courage to Think: A video intro to Scholars at Risk.  Watch>


Scholars In Prison

Student Advocacy Seminar


Monitoring Attacks

Print Page


The Scholars at Risk Network Board is responsible for the overall policy and direction of the Network. Network members are invited to nominate representatives to the Board. The Board supervises the activities of the Network officers and staff and report on these activities to the Network members and affiliates.

SAR Network Board

Jonathan Fanton (Chair)
President, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Jonathan Cole
John Mitchell Mason Professor of the University
Provost and Dean of Faculties, Emeritus
Columbia University

Harvey Dale
Professor, New York University School of Law
Director, National Center on Philanthropy and the Law

Irving Epstein
Professor and Chair of Educational Studies
Director of the Center for Human Rights
Illinois Wesleyan University

Hanna Gray
President Emeritus
University of Chicago

Beth Greenwood
Director of International Programs, Law School
University of California, Davis

Thomas Keenan
Director, Human Rights Project
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Bard College

Jan Krukowski
Jan Krukowski & Co.

Robert J. Jones
President, The University at Albany
State University of New York

Gara LaMarche
President, Democracy Alliance
Senior Fellow at NYU Wagner School of Public Service

Gilbert W. Merkx
Director of the Office of International and Area Studies
Duke University

Judith Shapiro
President, The Teagle Foundation
President Emeritus, Barnard College

Domna C. Stanton
Distinguished Professor
The Graduate Center, CUNY

Catharine R. Stimpson
University Professor & Dean Emeritus
The Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy
New York University

John Studzinski
Vice Chairman, Investor Relations & Business Development
The Blackstone Group

NYU Advisory Board

Catharine R. Stimpson (Chair)
University Professor & Dean Emeritus
The Steinhardt Institute for Higher Education Policy

Philip Alston
Faculty Director and Chair, Center for Human Rights and
Global Justice and John Norton Pomeroy Professor of Law

Sylvain Cappell
Professor of Mathematics and Director of Graduate Studies

Shepard Forman
Director Emeritus and Senior Fellow, Center on International

Michael Gilsenan
David B. Kriser Professor of the Humanities and Professor
of Middle Eastern Studies and Politics


Home | Contact | Site Map
194 Mercer Street, Room 410, New York, NY, 10012 USA
TEL 1-212-998-2179 FAX 1-212-995-4402 EMAIL
© 2009 - 2016 Scholars at Risk Network
New York University